Meet Our Faculty

BWS relies upon an energetic and dynamic team of Waldorf-trained educators. Our teachers come from around the world to share the wonders of Waldorf education with our Brooklyn-based community. Together, we learn from one other’s range of experiences and delight in each of our individual gifts.

Collaboration among teachers, staff, and students is highly encouraged, and BWS faculty work together with enthusiasm to care for the entire community. Maintaining such a mutually-supportive working environment ultimately helps our students develop their own sense of social responsibility.

Early Childhood

  • Gun Blue, Lead Teacher
  • Gillian Zagorski, Lead Teacher
  • Monika Stanislawek, Lead Teacher
  • Monica Sibrizzi, Lead Teacher
  • Monineath Pen, Aftercare Lead Teacher
  • Jenny Lee, Assistant Teacher
  • Claire Christerson, Aftercare Assistant Teacher
  • Hanna Jane Guendel, Assistant Teacher
  • Nahid Jahan, Assistant Teacher
  • Debbie Campbell, Assistant Teacher
  • Dawn Warfield, Parent-Child Teacher

Lower School

  • Cameo Brown, Grade 1 Class Teacher
  • Elise Pizzonia, Grade 1 Assistant Teacher
  • Emma Egan, Grade 2 Class Teacher
  • Sojourner Walker Williams, Grade 3 Class Teacher
  • Elana Margolis, Grade 4 Class Teacher
  • Monica Snavely, Grade 5 Class Teacher

Middle School

  • Audrey Kindred, Grade 6 Class Teacher
  • Catherine O’Brien, Grade 7 Class Teacher
  • Kiana Ward, Grade 8 Class Teacher

Specialty Subjects

  • Chris Castelli, Mathematics & Technology Teacher
  • Finn Bell, Athletic Director
  • Blair Brown, Games & Movement Teacher
  • Jayanthi Bunyan, Music Teacher
  • Sibylle Johner, Music Director & Orchestra Teacher
  • Shengnan Yue, Mandarin Teacher
  • Aliya Khan, Spanish Teacher
  • Dorke Poelz, Handwork & Craft Teacher
  • Lindsay Robbins, Handwork & Craft Teacher
  • Kannan Mahadevan, Test Prep Teacher
  • Sophie Streitweiser, Librarian & Substitute teacher

Learning Support Team


  • Naomi Nocera, Director of Learning Support
  • Aleah Black, Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Teacher
  • Morrissey Morrissey, Learning Support Associate
  • Dr. Keneca Boyce, Guidance Counselor

Parent Association Chairs


  • Kristy McAllister
  • Adrienne Westwood

Board of Trustees

  • Tiana Grimes-Wolfe, Co-President
  • Cynthia Hammond, Co-President
  • Konrad Meissner, Board Liaison
  • Chris Castelli, Faculty  Representative
  • Alex Blades
  • Kojo Campbell
  • John Egnatios-Beene
  • David-Michel Davies
  • Yvonne Perez Zarraga
  • Jelani Mashariki
  • Linda Ogden
  • Christina Pantazis-Blades, Administrative Representative

Faculty Council

  • Monika Stanislawek
  • Elana Margolis
  • Chris Castelli
  • Monica Sibrizzi
  • Jayanthi Bunyan
  • Gun Blue
  • Edward Holtby
  • Gillian Zagorski
  • Kiana Ward
  • Casey Griffin
  • Christina Pantazis-Blades

Administrative Team

Admissions & Communications
  • Christina Pantazis-Blades, Admissions Director
  • Sheila Shaw, Admissions Associate
  • Edward Holtby, Communications Coordinator


Business Office
  • Lena Lvova, Business Office Associate
  • Annie Ng, Business Office Coordinator
  • Onsy Elshamy, Business Office Coordinator


  • Joseph Tsiporin, Building Superintendent
  • Luis Urueta, Custodian


  • Leecia Manning, Special Events Coordinator
  • Casey Griffin, Project Manager
  • Sean Brekke, School Operations and Library Coordinator
  • Justin Criswell, Front Desk Receptionist